New goals

Going into a new year is a good time to rethink some goals and plans. This year was pretty eventful. I started learning pointed pen calligraphy. I started exploring running script in Chinese calligraphy. I even dabbled in some abstract watercolor.

In Chinese calligraphy, I will definitely continue with running script. At some point, I know I will probably want to switch to a different script. I could work on a standard script style that had hints of cursive script. Or I could start a different standard script style that I think will be an interesting match with English calligraphy.

I want to learn English brush calligraphy. I started with brush pens, but now I want to use an actual brush. It would complement my work in Chinese calligraphy and abstract watercolor. Brush pens require purchasing many pens for a variety of colors, but watercolors can be mixed for color variation.

I need to work on the basic drawing and color mixing skills. I have found two books by Betty Edwards that fit perfectly: “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” and “Color: A course in mastering the art of mixing colors”. I like that these books have guided exercises.

I want to develop a neat handwriting for those occasions where I need neat and nice handwriting, but calligraphy may not be appropriate. For the English alphabet, I will be working on French cursive. For Chinese, I have some books on improving writing and writing beautifully.

I really need to work on more projects during the year. I think the only major project I did this past year was red banners for Chinese New Year. I need to start focusing on producing actual works that can be mounted and exhibited.

These seem like a good starting point. I’m sure I will have more short term goals as the year goes on. Do you have major art goals for the coming year?

發表迴響 | Leave a Reply

